Organizational Structure:

O/A Advisors


O/A Shareholder in Trust


O/A President


O/A Board of Directors


O/A Director

GOVERNANCE - Alexis Education Governing Authority

Alexis Education Services is governed by a Board of Directors in compliance with the Criminal Code of Canada, the Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation's Membership Code, Band Policies and Procedures.

On behalf of the members of Alexis and future generations, the Alexis Elder's are the advisors for Alexis Education.

On behalf of the members of Alexis, the Chief of Alexis is the Shareholder in Trust.

Chairman of the Board

Alexis Chief as Shareholder in Trust has appointed one Band Councilor to act as "Chairman of the Board" (President). The President is delegated to recruit and maintain good governance for the Education Board.

  • 2008-2010: Tony Alexis, Band Councillor
  • 2010-2013: Erwin Letendre, Band Councillor
  • 2013-2014: Gloria Potts, Band Councillor
  • 2014-Present: Elizabeth Letendre, Band Councillor
  • 2019-Present: Darwin Alexis, Band Councillor

Directors of the Board

Education Board meetings are called by the Chairman. Meetings are held monthly. Agenda items vary from Recruitment, Annual Operating Plans, Budget Reviews, Research, Planning and Policy Development. The Chairman, through approval by the Board's Trustees, has recruited and appointed six (6) volunteers to act as "Directors of the Board"

  • 2009-Present: Jacqueline Letendre, Director (Community Member)
  • 2009-Present: Rebecca Sockbesan-Cardinal, Director (Community Member)
  • 2013-Present: Evelyn Potts, Director (Community Member)
  • 2013-Present: Mervin Kootenay, Director (Community Member)
  • 2014-Present: Carrie-Ann Potts, Director (Community Member)
  • 2014-Present: Ronald Woytiuk, Director(Non-Community Member)
  • 2014-Present: Cora Wener-Pillwax, Director (Non-Community Member)
  • 2019-Present: Toni Letendre, Director

  • 2019-Present: Hughie Jones
  • 2019-Present: Isabelle Kootenay
  • 2019-Present: Shannon Alexis
  • 2019-Present: Joyce Alexis

  • 2009-2012: Lloyd Verrealut, Director (Community Member)
  • 2009-2012: Quinton P. Kootenay, Director (Community Member)
  • 2009-2013: Corrine Potts, Director (Community Member)
  • 2009-2013: Doug Nelson, Director
  • 2013-2013: Stephanie Alexis, Director (Community Member)

CORPORATE - Alexis Education - Education Leader

The Board, through hiring process, has recruited and appointed one (1) Director to act as the "Education Leader". The Education Leader's role is to manage the operations of the Alexis Education Program.

  • 2002 - 2012: Elizabeth Letendre - Director of Education
  • 2012 - 2013: Tom Wilkinson - Education Leader
  • 2013 - 2014: Loretta Mustus-Duncan - Interim Education Leader
  • 2014 - Present: David Yu, Education Leader
  • Elementary/Junior/Senior High School
  • Outreach
  • Cyber School
  • Summer Student Work
  • Skills Link Mentorship
  • Alberta Education Program of Studies
  • Career and Technology Studies
  • FNMI Land-based Learning
  • FNMI Language and Culture
  • Home Education
  • Home Education Shared Responsibility
  • Knowledge and Employability
  • Inclusive Education